All About Hair Porosity and Glycerin

Hair porosity. It’s one of the hardest things about your hair to nail down, but there are many who believe the products and styling techniques that will work for you are more related to how porous your hair is than to your curl pattern.

I won’t pretend to be an expert on porosity. I’ll send you over to Science-y Hair Blog if you don’t yet know yours and what it means for you. I was, however, curious whether or not there were correlations between hair properties like porosity and product ingredients we wavies like or dislike.

I conducted a survey among the members of the Wavy Hair Community on Facebook and the Type 2 forum on Naturally Curly. I asked a lot of questions about hair properties, weather, and ingredients. I would be happy to share all of the results with anyone who’d like to see them, but for the sake of this post I decided to narrow things down to porosity and glycerin.

Here’s what I found.

The truth about hair porosity and glycerin

Do these findings jive with your experience? Let me know in the comments!

[Image Credit: Sara Lando]

2 thoughts on “All About Hair Porosity and Glycerin

    • Alyssa Godfrey says:

      Thaks for your response! I think a lot of people do, but they also struggle with it in low dew points. I think porosity makes a difference and I’d like to learn more about it. What’s yours, if you don’t mind my asking?

      Like

Leave a comment